Santa is Coming!

People, Christmas is on Tuesday!! Why did nobody warn me? How on earth did it sneak up on me so quickly? Oh wait I know, it’s because despite my earlier declarations of getting an early start I actually only started one thing and then completely ignored the jingle bells until December. Now, I know many of you will be aware of this already but that is far too late to begin making Christmas presents for your friends and family! My grand handmade Christmas presents plan had to be rapidly downscaled. Instead of making handmade cards I bought some charity ones to give to friends and family and focussed solely on ensuring that everyone gets at least one handmade thing in their gift. For my Mum & her partner it was this crochet throw blanket,

20121214_125845

For my sister it was a very cute hat and mitten set (which I forgot to photograph before wrapping-raging!) and I’ll be forwarding her bike pannier bags once I actually finish them in the New Year. For my Dad and his wife, and all the inlaws I am making up Christmas hampers with lots of goodies in them including Cranberry Curd, Lemon Curd, Scottish Tablet, Peppermint Creams, Turkish Delight, Treacle Toffee, Honeycomb and Chocolate Truffles. These hampers ensure that my kitchen becomes a sweet smelling wee factory for a few days but they are always so well received I can’t not give them as gifts. This is the last of my Christmas making and I am happy to see that wee light at the end of the tunnel!

Cranberry Curd

Now, I’ve made a promise to myself that I will be better next year and that I’ll start making Christmas presents in October but we all know what happens to the best laid schemes! 
What did you guys do for your handmade Christmas gifts? I’m sure you were all much more organised than I was!

Leave a Reply

