The Colette Sewing Handbook- Sarai Mitnick

Ok, so my book buying habit might be getting out of control. Mr Postman has just delivered me this delicious looking handbook. It’s stuffed full of gorgeous designs, advice and lessons. As a self taught (and mother taught) seamstress it’s great to get a bit of guidance from a book like this on some of the techniques used in dressmaking. It saves hours being able to follow a shortcut rather than figuring out through trial and error how to complete techniques. I am also very excited by the information regarding the alteration of patterns as until now I have either followed a pattern exactly or gone completely in my own direction (with mixed results). It’ll be good to adjust and alter patterns to suit my fabric/ body/taste without completely free-styling it!

Between this and Carrie Maclennan’s A Busy Girl’s Guide to Sewing I foresee many happy hours in front of the sewing machine.  Though I must restrain myself from buying more books, or patterns and allow myself a little time to get started on the projects in the books I already have.

Leave a Reply

